Trainerannette’s Blog

  • 12:10:36 pm on January 25, 2010 | 0
    Tags: , , , ,

    So if you’re on Facebook, you got a mini-view of my post-turned-blog (the turn to blog is this post!!).

    I was a MESS yesterday!

    It started with the idea to put in some more miles this past Sunday w/my half marathon running buddy Isabel.

    10 miles was the goal, and for both of us it would be the longest we had gone thus far.

    Kind of a scary thought–at least for me!

    I’ve deliberately chosen to switch my “face” for running from: “I HATE running,” to “okay, I have a goal, its time I step up to the plate, walk the talk and get it done.”

    That decision became easy…..after repeating this to myself in the mirror for 15 days: “I AM a runner. My body is made to do this. I am strong, I am blessed, and I can go for miles.”

    But getting to that point took deliberate action.

    Onto the 10-mile run we went, along with 2 additional friends of mine, I’ll call them 1 & 2, just cause I don’t have their permission to throw them here on my blog!

    The day was chilly, about 53 degrees when we started. I had my black 3/4 workout shorts and my red long-sleeved nike training layer. (This top turns me into Wonder Woman-that and my Suunto watch which still doesn’t have the correct time set on it but I wear it anyway), but the sun was out, it was beautiful.

    #1 friend took off like a shot. Nobody else existed except her headphones and the embrace of the pavement.

    We were all relying on #1 to keep the mileage counts for us. It was a bit uncomfortable for me, but I still, after about 4 months, have not set my Suunto!

    Trot trot trot we go. Note to self: get a new pair of earphones with the hook-thingies that go behind your ear.

    The short, #1 is headed back, I look at her and mouth to her “where’s the 5 mile mark?”

    She shouts back “West Lincoln then turn back.”

    “Okay cool, I’m almost there,” I said to myself. “Whew!”

    So I continued until West Lincoln showed up.

    Didn’t show up.

    Still didn’t show up.

    Still messin with the right earbud, it kept fallin out.

    “WHERE’S WEST LINCOLN?!”

    “$hit, I’m tired! Okay, I’ll stop at the next bridge-looking thing. Its kinda far but eh, I’ll make it.”

    I stopped at Taft, chugged my bottle of water and came back!

    About 15 trots back I realized that mayyyyybe I went to far!

    Laughing OUT LOUD at myself there went yet ANOTHER face, another mind set of “awww yeah, time to suck it up and finish.”

    And now there was a head wind.

    Didn’t seem like it was going to end! Every mind game available was present, taunting me with every single step I took.

    Legs feeling like concrete, I allowed the mind games to have their say, and beat em back with “I AM a runner. My body is made to do this. I am strong, I am blessed, and I can go for miles.”

    Upon return I was welcomed by my friends, and a big “WHAT HAPPENED!?”

    So I regaled the “West Lincoln” story.

    And here comes #1–“Nooooo Annette I said ‘just PAST’ Lincoln. To go a little bit PAST Lincoln and turn around!”

    Yup, there I was, the tontita with my Wonder Woman shirt, Suunto watch that doesn’t tell time yet, my shaking legs and the BIGGEST smile of accomplishment!

    Well ended up I ran close to 13 miles. I haven’t mapped it out yet, but its a pretty good estimation.

    Do you have a mission to accomplish? I think you do!

    You can start here: http://wp.me/pmtrp-di

    The only reason you need is…..you.

    And then some,

    Annette

    P.S. I EARNED those miles yesterday. Learn what earning “you” can mean here: http://wp.me/pmtrp-di

    Annette Padilla
    Personal Trainer/Lifestyle Coach
    Cell (562) 650-2395

    http://www.absolute-fitness-results.com for your FREE e-book!

    Success is getting up … one more time!

     

Leave a comment